Skip to content ↓

Carlisle Infant School


Early Years Foundation Stage – EYFS

The Reception year in school is characterised by the ‘ Early Years Foundation Stage’ a distinct year in a child’s education. The EYFS sets the standards that all early years’ providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ providing the broad range of skills and knowledge that provide the right foundation for good future progress in school and life. The EYFS is underpinned by four guiding principles:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self- assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experience responds to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers;
  • Children learn in different ways and at different rates

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the programme of study in Reception. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The prime areas are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development;
  • personal, social and emotional development

The programme of study in Reception must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.